When Jiu Jitsu is Like Brushing Your Teeth

I know it sounds weird, but I was thinking about this recently and just hear me out on it.

The act of brushing your teeth is something (I sincerely hope) everyone who reads this blog does at least on a regular basis. I would certainly hope everyone brushes their teeth at least once (preferably twice) a day, but hey, I’m not here to tell you how to live your life.

Anyway, the point is that you perform this action on a regular basis, and feels unnatural to miss. It’s (usually) not negotiable or even something you question: it’s just something that’s built into your day. You do it because it makes you feel better, and makes you a more pleasant person to be around- either because you now have pleasant smelling breath, or because you’re not hiding your face like Dracula or Nosferatu due to your (real or imagined) horrendous smelling breath.

Attending class, drilling- all of that should be built into your schedule, much like the act of brushing your teeth. While it doesn’t have to be every day, it does need to be a time in your week that is built in and not questioned: do what you can to schedule your time around it, to make it a part of your life that should feel not natural to do. Much like brushing your teeth.

Anyway, that’s my random thought for the moment: do you agree? Disagree? Let me know- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under bjj

2 responses to “When Jiu Jitsu is Like Brushing Your Teeth

  1. Anne

    I would never start my day without brushing my teeth, likewise I never start my day without bjj!

  2. Pingback: May 6, 2015 - BJJ News

Leave a comment