Daily Archives: June 3, 2013

New Traditions for IBJJF Tournaments

So, Worlds happened this weekend and to be perfectly honest I only managed to catch one fight, the finals match between Keenan Cornelius and Paulo Miyao. Which granted, I’m sure there were tons of matches I should have watched but it was gratifying to see one of the Miyaos win after watching Cornelius defeat the brothers at Pans.

And can we talk about something, Internet? The IBJJF had some new traditions and things they are putting into place. Take this, for instance:

20130603-081542.jpg

Maybe it’s due to my involvement with musical and “straight” theater in high school and college, but when I first saw this at Pans I was definitely expecting these guys to break out into a choreographed dance number, a la “West Side Story”, finger snaps and all. I’m not mocking anyone, it’s just the first thing that came to mind. You have to admit that’s a great mental image though.

And now they are starting a tradition in which those who place, at least at Worlds, are required to hold up flowers when posing on the podium. Which is nice, I guess, but I feel a little unnecessary. I don’t know what the organizers thought this would achieve, I’m sure there’s something on the IBJJF website and I just missed it.

There’s no denying the tournament is growing and getting better in a lot of ways, I just wish they had directed their attention to other matters to improve. And for those who have competed in their tournaments I’m sure you have your own suggestions because we’re human and that’s just what we do: take what we enjoy and find ways we can improve them.

All right, that’s the end of my rambling, go out and have a great day everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under bjj, tournaments