Coaching and What it Means to You

So I’ve had a professional coach for the past few months, and frankly I’ve been having some trouble really finding a groove with that coach. I’m starting to wonder if at least part of the problem has to do with what a “coach” means to me, especially with my background in jiu jitsu.

While I’m not expecting the coach at my job to show me some new, slick submissions, I think there are some expectations that I may be bringing in to the relationship due to past experience. For instance, your coach is also usually your instructor- for the most part, anyway. They are usually intimate with your struggles because they have seen you train, they have rolled with you on occasion and have watched you roll with others, pointing out certain positions or sticking points and offering suggestions how to get around them.

To be fair, that may not be everyone’s experience when it comes to coaching. Maybe your teacher and your coach to two entirely different people- the coach being there to lead and motivate, while the teacher is there to perform more of the day to day tasks.

Do I think a coach needs to be there every single time you train? No, but I think they should be around on a fairly regular enough basis to understand your style, so they can aptly and accurately offer suggestions on how to better your game. Or really work to get to know the person by asking questions about common sticking points, and seeing what sticks in order to work on common problem areas, brainstorming or offering suggestions that the person being coached can then put their own spin on.

What does having a coach mean to you? Just curious. Let me know- otherwise have a great day everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under bjj, jiu jitsu

3 responses to “Coaching and What it Means to You

  1. Connie Hay

    I can agree with this completely, my “coach” wasn’t around enough to witness my progress and my problem areas, I was training at this particular school for 11 months, He decided to show all of us a move and if you were 3 months or less you were to do the kimura, if you had more than 3 months you were to do the knee on belly and then move into a new position he was showing. Me, having 11 months, asked for assistance and he told me to “just do the kimura”.
    That same night I was rolling with a teammate, he and I worked together almost every time we trained, and he asked the coach to show me a move he was trying to talk me though, and the coach basically said no and told me not to do the move. I was so devastated that I walked out that night and never returned. I now train at a different school. I think being a coach is showing up, and if your not showing up, don’t assume that your students haven’t learned anything since the last time we saw you.

  2. Are you taking privates now? Whats the point of having the coach other than a time crunch?

Leave a Reply

