Daily Archives: June 19, 2017

To Tape or Not to Tape

So, while most of the internet tells you that you should tape your fingers for jiu jitsu, I need to be a contrarian for a moment and say that I’m not totally convinced that everyone needs to do it, myself included. I do tape my pinky toe to its neighbor, but that’s after multiple dislocations (because I’m stubborn) and really to avoid future distractions while training.

I’m sure there are many out there that feel taping their fingers is an absolute life saver, particularly those who have been training for years upon years: your body has suffered tremendous wear and tear and I’m sure tape is a fantastic relief. There are also people out there who say to tape your fingers to avoid future pain or getting knobbly knuckles, and that’s where I don’t totally agree. Full disclosure, I’m also someone who sort of falls more in line with the Hunter S. Thompson quote about the body:

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!”

So really, take that as you will.

Just some thoughts for the day. Have a great day everyone!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized