Competition: Going with a Group vs a “Lone Ranger” Competitor

We have a policy at our academy that may seem a little strange to some, but it works pretty well for us: when it comes to a jiu jitsu competition, unless there’s some special circumstance, no one competes alone. You at least have one other person with you (preferably a coach) and under ideal conditions we bring a whole team of people to a tournament.

I’ve seen the “lone ranger” sort of competitor: the guy without a coach or even another teammate to cheer them on. I’m curious to hear if someone prefers it this way. Personally, I like the idea of having an entire team attend an event, to share the experience and memories with.

Do other people prefer it the other way? If so, why? I imagine there’s some benefit that I’m just not aware of, and am curious to know what it might be.

Let me know- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under bjj, bjj tournaments

2 responses to “Competition: Going with a Group vs a “Lone Ranger” Competitor

  1. SavageKitsune

    The more people watching me, the more nervous I get. I would rather have no one there that I know.

    • Katie

      I totally understand that feeling, but on the other if you have someone there who is watching the match, there’s a chance that they’ll see something that may be a problem in your game and both (or all) of you can work to sort it out. Ultimately it’s whatever you’re the most comfortable with, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

