Jiu Jitsu and Competition: Nevertheless, I am Willing

So we’re starting a bookclub at work pretty soon, and the book we’re all reading beforehand is called Mastering Life’s Energies: Simple Steps to a Luminous Life at Work and Play. I’m not one to really read self-help books: it’s usually science and history or sci-fi/fantasy for me, but it’s pretty well written so it hasn’t been that much of a chore to read.

It talks a good deal about dealing with objections and doubts in a way that feels less of a struggle or grind to achieve your goal(s), and I feel has a lot to do with jiu jitsu, particularly competing.

There’s a section of the book in which it asks you to perform an exercise: I’m going to (poorly) summarize it, but think of something you have wanted to do that causes you a lot of anxiety, and frame all the anxious sentiments with the ending “nevertheless, I am willing.” When put into a competition angle, it may look something like this:

“I am scared to compete: nevertheless, I am willing.”

“I’m worried that I’m going to get crushed out there: nevertheless, I am willing.”

“The idea of getting in front of a bunch of people and fighting this complete stranger is nerve wracking: nevertheless, I am willing.”

I don’t know about everyone else, but I have found out (the hard way) that ignoring your anxiety- or worse, dwelling on it- does little to reduce it, but in fact in some ways makes it worse. By acknowledging this anxiety, but focusing your thoughts towards your purpose, your goal, it should lead to a (small) peace of mind.

Just my two cents: let me know what you think- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under bjj, jiu jitsu, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

