Black Belt: One Year Anniversary

Dear cottony thing I tie around my waist (that happens to be dyed black),

You and I are going to be together for a long time, friend, but I felt it was appropriate the commemorate our one year anniversary together. We’ve seen some wins, some losses and all the other ups and downs that life tends to toss your way.

I was a little cautious to put you on at first. For weeks, months even I still thought someone was going to tap me on the shoulder and say, “Oh right, sorry: that’s actually not yours and we’re going to have to take it back.”

But, over the months you and I have grown accustomed to one another, I think. We’ve been through some good times- teaching, offering advice to students on the mat, sharing laughs and joyful moments with teammates, standing up on the podium at a couple of tournaments. We’ve also weathered some rough patches- a couple of losses, a few injuries, some tears here and there, and other setbacks.

Overall however I think we’ve had a pretty good first year, and I’m looking forward to what the future holds.

Your friend,

The human who always seems to be tying you into a knot

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Black Belt: One Year Anniversary

  1. Happy Anniversary to you both! And thank you for creating such a fun and informative blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

