Article on Whether Spider Guard Translates to No Gi

Well, I sure try to make it work.

There’s an article over at grapplearts.com about whether or not spider guard is a viable open guard option in no gi. In my personal experience, I find it’s trickier, but still a possibility. There’s a strong emphasis on wrist control, staying on point with your feet on the biceps, and keeping your fingers crossed that no one has gotten too sweaty yet.

Check it out, and let me know what you think.

1 Comment

Filed under bjj, jiu jitsu

One response to “Article on Whether Spider Guard Translates to No Gi

  1. I agree ! I’ve trained in the gi for over 4 years and now that I moved to Colombia South America the only gym in my city is 10th planet so we only train without the gi and when I spar I still use spider guard since I’m so used to it and it definelty can be useful if you know how to use it !

Leave a Reply

