Technique Video, and Why I Disagree with It

As I’m sure you all know, I’m not a huge fan of Keenan Cornelius- he’s more the guy I would warily keep an eye on if walking down the street or sitting in the same room as him. But, you have to admit he’s pretty popular, and has had some success with his techniques, and that deserves some respect.

That being said, I really don’t like this recent technique video he’s put out, regarding choking people with your foot and “making them mad”. I thought maybe people were getting ‘mad’ because the choke is so super simple that they feel silly getting caught in it. I watched the video, andhe is instructing people to apply pressure to the throat either close to, or directly on the windpipe. Dude, the reason people are mad is because you’re putting their larynx at risk for injury, which would piss anybody off. To me, a choke is not about causing your opponent pain: I joke sometimes that when choking someone, I think it should be more like the snake in the Jungle Book- your opponent being lulled into a sense that they are fine, and the next they are waking up wondering what the heck happened.

That doesn’t really look like what is happening in this technique. I would imagine the person is tapping from pain, or panic, not from “whoa, I almost passed out there”. The main principles of a choke are to cut off the blood flow to the brain via the carotid artery, while avoiding the windpipe as much as possible. The first part, cutting off the blood to the brain is being achieved- the second, not so much.

This is just all purely my opinion however. Check out the video for yourself and let me know what you think. Otherwise, have a great day everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under bjj

One response to “Technique Video, and Why I Disagree with It

  1. “To me, a choke is not about causing your opponent pain:”

    100% agree. IMO, nothing in jiu jitsu should be primarily about causing your opponent pain. I like Saulo’s quote on the topic, in reference to opening the guard:

    “A lot of people give up about trying to open the guard on the ground because they have got so many problems and spend so much energy here on the ground. You have to think that your partner, the guy that you’re training [with], has to be your best friend.

    So, you don’t want to hurt him, you don’t want to try to open his guard with your elbow, make him feel really pain, because jiu jitsu is not about pain. You have to find the right spot to save your energy and be able to open the guard.”

Leave a Reply

