Jiu Jitsu and Your Body: Be Your Own Advocate

JiuJiu has an interesting article on her blog about how no one cares about your body. Which, in a sense I agree with, but I would like to offer my own interpretation.

Listen, your teammates do care about you: they will encourage your success, they will empathize with your frustrations and sadness when you lose, they will help you when you train. But they aren’t mind readers: and more importantly, they’re dealing with their own psychological battles, physical injuries and limitations. When it comes to training, you need to become your own advocate: you need to know when to push yourself, and more importantly when you need to back off. Your teammates don’t know how much training you can take, and how hard you can be pushed.

It’s good to let a teammate know that you’re injured, but at the same time, it’s sort of unfair to assume that they will remember which arm/leg/whatever is injured the entire time while drilling or training. There have been multiple times when I’ve trained and accidentally-just from muscle memory- have reached for a partner’s injured limb. Once I remember, or I’m reminded I stop immediately, and others have done the same to me. And I’m sure the same has happened to you.

Be your own advocate on the mat. Push as far as you can go, but be ready to stop when you need to, and be ready to protect whatever injuries you have if you decide to train or drill. That way, everyone wins.

Let me know what you think- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under bjj

2 responses to “Jiu Jitsu and Your Body: Be Your Own Advocate

  1. Agreed! I thought the article was a little more downhearted than I see it. I’m my own advocate, though. I roll with people I trust, I try to remember what others limitations are, and I speak up when I need to. I say all the time “watch that knee!” in the middle of a roll. When someone hooks my leg or something that makes it feel bad, I say something – and they stop immediately. Other than that, I don’t do anything special. Besides picking to train with people who I know have good control. But yeah – they’re good guys, and no one wants to hurt you, they’re just not in your body with you. Speak up, and no worries! Do what you can – there’s no judgement… or there shouldn’t be!

  2. Pingback: April 7, 2015 - BJJ News

Leave a Reply

