Lovato Out of Metamoris 5

Not to kill your jive this morning, but unfortunately Raphael Lovato Jr. (who really should dress as that particular Ninja Turtle one Halloween…but I digress) will not be participating in Metamoris 5 due to a tear in his shoulder.

This is the explanation he provided on Facebook:

To all my friends, fans, & supporters, I regret to inform you that I will not be able to compete at Metamoris 5 against Yuri Simoes on November 22nd, due to a serious tendon tear that happened in training this week.

The tendon that connects my pec to my shoulder is torn.

Words cannot express the disappointment I felt when I got hurt this week and realized that I was going to have to step out of Metamoris and cancel my fight with Yuri.”

I truly feel bad for Lovato: not only does he train hard, obviously a top competitor, but the few times I’ve met him he’s just a really nice guy, and it’s a shame to see someone work so hard, they are so close to their goal and then an injury like this pop up, taking them out of the running.

I saw (I think it was Instagram…I don’t remember. Which, btw my username on there is @skirtonthemat if any of you are interested) that Cobrinha is clamoring to take Lovato’s spot: we’ll see how things play out over the next couple of weeks, I guess.

Who do you think should take Lovato’s spot in Metamoris? Let me know- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under bjj

Leave a Reply

