Oh. Worm Guard.

So I ended up watching BJJ Scout’s breakdown of the worm guard. BTW I dislike the name, but whatever. I can see the benefits to the position and the method in the madness, if you will, however I don’t see myself practicing this anytime soon and I can definitely foresee a lot of stalling in this position mainly due to the fact that a lot of people don’t seem to have a solid defense against the guard. Which is obviously good for Cornelius, for now.

I think it will stump people for a while, but there will eventually come a good counter or defense for this move. The nice thing about jiu jitsu is that it is always evolving, because people eventually find an answer/counter/response to a position. That’s part of what makes the sport and martial art so interesting.

Anyway, that’s all I have for today: what are your thoughts on the worm guard. Let me know- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under bjj

2 responses to “Oh. Worm Guard.

  1. Agree, folks will adapt, and Buchecha (I know, he’s Buchecha) but he showed what might be the first step: patience. Buchecha was rightfully mad after his match with Keenan b/c the Atos crowd was calling him a “staller.” He knew Keenan was anchored to him (Anchor Guard is a better name) but Keenan was stuck, just as well. But yeah, worm? lol

  2. Jaime

    The guy on bottom leaves his neck open for being pressured to release the guard. Also, the foot on the guy’s side is ripe for being ankle locked.

Leave a Reply

