Jiu Jitsu Guilt: It’s Ok to Take a Break Sometimes

I’ve talked about this a number of times here, but it definitely bears repeating: Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom has a post about the guilt we have as Jiu jitsu players and not training hard enough while we’re injured, sick, etc.

Ah, we’re a hardheaded bunch, us Jiu jitsu people. Which does work to our benefit for the most part- we tirelessly work away at certain techniques, and sometimes even when we are tired of them we continue to drill anyway. We get the sniffles, tell ourselves that our allergies are acting up, and is it just us or did it suddenly get really hot in the mat room? And why is the room spinning… Or we get injured and we continue to drill and train anyway, even though every time we kneel on that one knee there’s a blinding pain like a nuclear blast went off in our heads, wiping out any and all other thoughts… we’ve pretty much all been there.

It’s a double edged sword- this determination and perseverance; it’s a drive that can get us a win on the mat, but these qualities also can work against us sometimes: a double edged sword that yes, can push us to become better, but also has the potential to do us real harm.

Times like these it’s good to take a step back and think of your training in a long term perspective: I think too often we think of the next tournament, and the next after that, and think of our progress and competition career (for lack of a better term) in these smaller increments. Taking the time to take care of yourself however is just as important as training hard, and taking the time now will benefit you in the long run, particularly when it comes to injuries. You don’t want to have that knee/ankle/elbow, whatever that never really got better because you never took the proper time off for it to heal.

So, it’s hard, and it may feel counter intuitive, or even against the very fiber of your being, but put that guilt aside and take care of yourself. It may chafe you at the moment, but it’s better to take care of these things now than to have to deal with the repercussions and consequences of ignoring these injuries later.

5 Comments

Filed under bjj

5 responses to “Jiu Jitsu Guilt: It’s Ok to Take a Break Sometimes

  1. Thanks for reminding me of that article. Like I posted over there, I read in NonViolent Communication this very cool idea of using proactive, positive words. Instead of taking power away from us (I can’t go to bjj) we use empowering language – I choose not to do X because I Y. I choose not to go to jiu jitsu because I want to fully heal.

    The simple act of using that proactive language really makes your mind do a double take. It becomes less about what you CAN’T do and more about what you CHOOSE to do – because we all have choices. And yes, sometimes that choice is to watch Doctor Who on the couch with my sweetheart and drink wine instead of doing jiu jitsu.

  2. Thanks for the write-up, I appreciate the advice. All the advice I’ve gotten has been really good and pretty much what I would tell someone else who told me they were feeling this way. I just have to keep reminding myself that I should take my own advice. It’s hard mentally for me not to be able to train but I am going to try watching classes more this week and see if that helps with that aspect.

  3. Pingback: January 28, 2014 | BJJ News

  4. Pingback: Jiu Jiu's BJJ Blog – BJJ: Reasons vs Excuses

  5. Pingback: Too self-conscious to roll? | Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom

Leave a Reply

