Goal for 2014: More Social, Less Lurking

While I write a boat load in posts on here (at least I think I do) for the most part I am what the Internet calls a “lurker”. I read what others put out on the Internet and what others contribute to the conversation, but do not add any content or insight of my own. While part of this has to do with the fact that I have a job that requires my attention for most of the day, it’s also just a habit I picked up- I tend to listen more than talk in real life as well, if that makes anyone feel better about the whole thing.

This year I’m attempting to break this lurking habit and be more involved online; as involved as work and other time constraints will permit. There’s no specific goal or deadline in mind, so we’ll see how this goes.

Anything you’re working on this year? In Jiu jitsu, life, etc.? Some of you guys mentioned that you are looking to complete this year, and that’s great. Anyone else make a goal for themselves, or something they would like to change in 2014? I don’t want to call it a resolution, as that has become synonymous with “make a goal for yourself that you will break by the end of January or the next month.”

Let me know, otherwise have a great day everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Goal for 2014: More Social, Less Lurking

  1. I can relate to this! I am actually working on the same goal, I have so many thoughts that I’d like to share but for some reason I don’t. So here’s something i did -which could be good for your less lurking goal!- I started a topic on Pngine to get to know other bloggers’ insights on the changes that are happening to the blogging sphere because of social networks. Would be great if you joined the conversation!
    http://www.pngine.com/topic/42/Blogging-In-A-Status-Box

  2. I have a few goals for the new year. I think any goal in life is important, it keeps you evolving.

    • Katie

      I definitely agree everyone should have goals, I just meant that I don’t have a specific goal such as “I plan on posting to twitter 6 times each day, making sure 2 are replies and one retweet” sort of thing.

  3. Hehehe I get what you’re saying. I use Feedly now, even when I have posts emailed to me. I save the articles when I want to reply to them and then sit down at a computer and respond all at once. I found it to be helpful!

    Related: I’m now running a comment contest on my site! It’s to help promote community. I’m also doing a referral contest, and your blog is in the running (right now behind Georgette at #1 and Slideyfoot at #2). ^_^

    • Katie

      I have feedly on my phone and for the most part I enjoy the interface, I just don’t think to check it that often. maybe email subscriptions would help…or I should probably add more blogs about jiu jitsu to my feedly and less ones about baking… maybe, we’ll see.

      Nice!

Leave a Reply

