What Do You Do When Everything Goes Wrong?

Really, I swear I’m talking about jiu jitsu.

Lately I have been playing around with some different positions and stuff that aren’t really a part of my “A game”, and honestly I have been getting into bad positions a lot. For a lot of people, myself included, this would be frustrating: expecting more of ourselves and our technical ability. But I’m pretty at peace with the whole situation. It’s partly due to the knowledge that I’m sort of treading in unfamiliar territory, so it’s no wonder I’m getting into bad spots- but also because it’s a good opportunity to get into bad positions and practice getting out.

I imagine half the people reading this are probably thinking, “well, duh.” but really, how often do we really work on our “escape plan”? Getting into those tight spots and working our way back to at least a neutral position-working on dealing with the uncomfortable feeling in you gut that’s telling you “this…this is not where I want to be right now.”

Practicing these things in the gym are key in my opinion because it will help you in tournament- you’ve already been put into bad positions, and you’ve practiced ways to get out. By all means I can’t offer a guarantee you will get out of those situations since you’ve practiced them, but there’s a good chance you’ll be less panicked since it’s a situation you’ve been put in before.

So, it’s ok sometimes to be put into bad spots, so later you have options when you are put in the situation to answer “what do you do when everything goes wrong?”

Leave a comment

Filed under bjj

Leave a Reply

