Quick Note: the Sacrifices we Make for Jiu Jitsu

Hey everyone, I’m running around playing Monday catch-up, but I wanted to add a note/ask a question.

I may have to do an all day thing tomorrow for work, and am currently planning on going to the gym ridiculously early in order to work out. Unfortunately no one will be there at that time to drill jiu jitsu with, but I can at least get a sweat which should help keep me on the scheduled weight loss I’m working towards for some tournaments I’ll be competing in.

This to me is a huge sacrifice, because A) I love sleep and B) hate getting up early in the morning. Which is funny if you know that I used to work opening shifts at a Starbucks, which requires getting to the store at about 5am.

Any recent and/or big sacrifices you have made for a tournament, or for the sport in general? Let me know and have a great Monday everyone!

5 Comments

Filed under bjj, tournaments, Training

5 responses to “Quick Note: the Sacrifices we Make for Jiu Jitsu

  1. Well prior to the tournament I make the sacrifice of not eating yummy foods like ice cream. Maybe not a big deal to some, but the occasional sweet treat makes me a happy camper.

    The biggest sacrifice I typically make is the time. It’s time I could spend with family, friends or a significant other. This ends up requiring a lot of balance and time management.

    • Katie

      As someone who has just turned down a third invitation to spend time with family at a beer & crab night, I definitely understand both.

  2. Thursdays, I leave for work at 5:45am in order to be to work by 8. Off at 4:30 so I can be to the gym by 7 pm, though I’m often a few minutes late. This translates into nearly 5 hours of traffic per day, just for jiu-jitsu…

  3. I make sure I don’t schedule appointments on Thursday evening or Saturday at noon (when I train). Those are popular times for my profession, so I am losing out on a good chunk of money.

Leave a Reply

