MyFitnessPal App: Making What I Hate Most a Little Easier

I have this mentioned before, but I hate counting calories. I don’t know what it is, but I think I would rather go back to having braces then count calories. Usually. But, I am looking to lose weight for some tournaments coming up, and I have come to terms with the fact that I have a tendency to over-train and under-eat.

This would also be a good time to mention that I don’t do this intentionally and I absolutely realize this is a problem: it . It’s counter-productive, in fact: too few calories and it becomes harder for someone to lose weight. So, to counter-act this I am using the app myFitnessPal as a food diary- to do what I hate, and making it just a little bit easier.

It’s fairly easy to use and more or less self-explanatory. You put in some personal information- height, weight, goal weight, activity level, and calculate a calorie net goal. From there you log in what you’ve eaten throughout the day, and the app keeps a tally of what you have consumed, telling you how many calories as well as other nutritional information- I’m a champ at eating my daily value of Vitamin A and C, apparently. There is also an option of putting in physical activity- the weight/resistance training options I found to be sort of limited, but they have jiu jitsu as once of the cardio activities, so I plug in the time I spend in class, along with the walking I do throughout the day, but that’s about it.

I am probably not using the app to its full potential, but for someone who loathes keeping a food diary, it’s pretty painless, keeps my disgust for the process at bay, and keeps me from overestimating how many calories I’ve consumed vs. how much I’ve burned which I have to admit is pretty nice. There’s a whole thing where you can friend people, but personally I’m really not interested in that part of the app. I just want to log in what I eat, my training time and then get the heck out of dodge.

So, for anyone else who can’t stand keeping a food diary, myfitnesspal is an app I would recommend.

1 Comment

Filed under bjj

One response to “MyFitnessPal App: Making What I Hate Most a Little Easier

  1. I used it for a long time as well. These days, I’m not too concerned with counting calories as training 4-5 days a week coupled with not being too concerned with losing weight doesn’t warrant it. Very good app though and they have just about anything you can buy at the store in there.

    One thing I’d recommend for the Jiu-Jitsu cardio portion is just use your live rolling time as your training time. I know we spend a lot of time talking about techniques and drilling which doesn’t burn anywhere near the calories that live rolling does. I found that if I used my whole class time, I’d overestimate what I was burning and end up not dropping weight because I’d eat to hit that 500 calorie deficit (or end up putting weight on).

Leave a Reply

