Bad BJJ Parody: When Trying to Keep it Light Goes Wrong

i get it

 

Recently there was a “parody” video made by some girl with the intention of poking fun at the hyper- sexualization of women doing jiu jitsu, and unfortunately it didn’t come off so well.

I’m just adding a screenshot and not the entire video- mainly because I feel giving traffic to the video and site really just encourages the one who made the video. And that’s not the point. If anything, I don’t want her to continue with this character, skit, whatever you want to call it. If you want to watch it though, it’s somewhere on the Grapple Planet website.

photo

I understand she was attempting to exaggerate, to point out the absurdity of the situation, but it wasn’t enough to really bring it home and the joke was lost. On one hand I feel bad for this girl, because really, who likes to be told they aren’t funny?  However JiuJiu had a good point and it would have been hysterical if her male partner was the one wearing the bikini, saying the exact same lines, shaking a bikini topped chest at his partner. That would have made me giggle.

If I had one thing to say to this girl is I understand what you were attempting to convey, but there was definitely a better way to go about it.

6 Comments

Filed under bjj

6 responses to “Bad BJJ Parody: When Trying to Keep it Light Goes Wrong

  1. panterawrr

    Looking at the picture sort of reminds me of mma candy’s videos on youtube where they also hypersexualise various bjj moves. I mean I understand it’s a way to demonstrate subs and stuff but it’s a wee bit ridiculous and yes, exaggerated.

  2. Pingback: Jiu Jiu's BJJ Blog – Women and BJJ: Parody Videos

  3. I’m happy to note that Grappler’s Planet removed the video from their Facebook page, issued an apology on my blog here, and issued an apology on their Facebook. Thankfully we can make a difference!

  4. Pingback: BJJ Company Crisis Management: Do’s and Don’ts | A Skirt on the Mat

Leave a Reply

