Happy Friday: Wicked Edition

So this weekend I am going to see the musical Wicked, which I’m sure everyone’s heard of, but just in case, it’s a sort of origin story of The Wicked Witch of the West, based on a pretty good book with the same name by author Gregory Macguire. And because I have an odd sense of humor, I thought it would be funny to post up some of the lyrics from one of the songs, “Defying Gravity” along with photos of flying armbars. I tried to link the sources where I could, but really I just googled “flying armbars” and this is what came up. And here’s the full song, just in case anyone is curious.

We’ll see how this goes: enjoy everyone and have a great weekend!

 

Something has changed within me, something is not the same, I’m through with playing by the rules of someone else’s game/ Too late for second guessing, too late to go back to sleep, it’s time to trust my instincts, close my eyes, and leap! 

Rose Namajunas vs Kathina Catron

It’s time to try defying gravity/ I think I’ll try defying gravity and you can’t pull me down 

images (1)

 

I’m through accepting limits, ’cause someone says they’re so/ some things I cannot change, but until I try I’ll never know!

flying-arm-bar_crop_650x440

 

As someone told me lately, “Ev’ryone deserves a chance to fly”

tumblr_mekxn54LRc1rhi12ko1_500

 

Tell them how I am defying gravity, I’m flying high, defying gravity! and soon I’ll match them in renown,

download

And nobody in all of Oz, no wizard that there is or was, is ever gonna bring me down!

images

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under bjj

4 responses to “Happy Friday: Wicked Edition

  1. Flying submissions are “interesting” to teach for the record.

    • Katie

      What? Teaching students to jump into unfamiliar positions, & depend on other students who are unfamiliar with the sudden change in weight and how that might effect their balance? Psh, what could possibly go wrong? 😉

      • Haha I actually have a good video of one of my heavyweights attempting a flying triangle. What’s should have been a Flying triangle turned into a flying guard pull, falling flat to his back. Lol. The little guys did it ok though.

      • Katie

        ha, good on him for attempting it though. I’ve drilled with heavier people who will just look at me wide-eyed and shake their heads in a sort of panic.

Leave a Reply

