The Timing of Your Jiu Jitsu Journey

past-present-future-lao-tzu

A common lament among people who start jiu jitsu is the wish to have started earlier in the sport, for any number of reasons. To have started earlier meant that you would be at a higher belt than you are now, you would have more time to have gotten better at the sport, players who have started younger (at least appear) to do better than those who begin later in life.

The fact of the matter is you started exactly when you did, because that’s when you were supposed to in your life. I have been guilty of wishing the same thing, until I really thought about my life and circumstances, etc. leading up to jiu jitsu, and this is the conclusion that I came to: that I was in exactly the right place at the right time to start my jiu jitsu…journey, thing, because all the right elements were there at that moment in time.

So I would say don’t worry so much about when you started, and bemoan all the years you feel you could have used to improve your game: to be perfectly honest I don’t really know your situation, internet, but you started the sport/martial art when you did because the timing was exactly when it needed to be, the people currently attending were (usually, for the most part) the right mix to start with and because you were in the right physical and emotional state. Again, I don’t really know how/why you started and there are pretty much always exceptions to the rule, and if that is the case I am sorry to hear that.

So, don’t worry about how you should have started jiu jitsu basically in utero and enjoy the fact that you are here, now, learning and enjoying the sport and continuing on your journey.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under bjj

3 responses to “The Timing of Your Jiu Jitsu Journey

  1. Someone recently said this to me, and it really helped. I was talking about how many years I’ve invested in karate and how, even though I love karate, I wish I’d started BJJ then instead. Karate will always be where I started, and I’m not gonna give it up… but BJJ fulfills me in a bigger, very different way.

    She asked whether I would’ve actually done BJJ then. And it got me thinking that, no, as an outofshape awkward teen, I’d NEVER have done this. Never woulda happened.

    Just made me realize that it really has been a journey to find a sport I really love. And that the journey is good. 🙂

  2. Joe

    I started about a year and a half ago at the age of 46.

    One thing that helps me in this regard is to think about how I feel after reading a really good book — afterwards, I often wish I could read the book again for the first time because it was so pleasurable. I use that idea to remind me of how much fun I’m having right now in BJJ.

    Try to enjoy each page, each chapter of the journey as it happens.

  3. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ <3!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

