Jiu Jitsu Tattoos

Previously I had mentioned tattoos and Jiu jitsu, and the care that the student should take when it comes to training after being stabbed with a tiny needle for several hours.

But now I would like to talk about Jiu jitsu tattoos- tattoos of images related to the sport and art. I know some people get the image of their academy’s logo, or maybe the Gracie triangle logo- isn’t there one guy with the ibjjf logo and all the medals he’s won tattooed on him?

Personally I think tattoos are usually pretty nifty, and if this sport is that significant in your life and you have been doing it for long enough, go for it. I wouldn’t suggest like, a white belt getting something like that, but then again hey, who am I to judge?

Just please, pretty please, if you are going to get a tattoo and it has text in it, make sure everyone is spelled correctly. For your sake, and my sanity. Thank you.

What do you guys think? Yay or nay on bjj tattoos?

20130502-060317.jpg

The “s” in this tattoo looks so close to being a “z” that it makes me twitch a little, but it is in fact spelled correctly.

7 Comments

Filed under bjj

7 responses to “Jiu Jitsu Tattoos

  1. It’s a definite yay for me, however I’d probably wait until black belt. Someone I follow on Twitter has a very cool rear-naked tattoo, that I’d like something similar too. I’ll see if I can get a picture of it.

  2. achaarani

    I say nay…especially in regards to academy tattoos. A blue belt I know who was Renzo Gracie is no longer with them. But he has a tattoo of the log on his arm.

    The one in the picture would make me nervous…I’ve seen it spelt jiu-jitsu, jui-jitsu and ju-jitsu…no thanks :).

    The reason I love bjj so much is that you don’t have to have that “UFC” look. Tall skinny unassuming guys are just killers on the mats, whereas the ones with tats/mohawks tend to not last long in this sport.

  3. Totally agree. Though in the name of caution, I wouldn’t get my team tattooed on my body. Think of all those poor saps with TLI that they had to cover up. I know at least four people!

    I’m pretty tempted to get a seahorse (I’m a diver and horse nut) and a jiu jitsu something, somewhere, someday.

    Have you seen Jamie Kilstein’s “Tofu Warrior” tat? (He’s at Marcelo Garcia’s, and is a standup comic of uncommon intelligence. His show is at Citizen Radio.)

  4. Here’s that tat I was on about. It’s subtle.

  5. AnthonyR

    Well I love tattoos, so I say yes. However, my attitude has changed towards them in that I think they should have a meaning or significance to the tattooe (is that a word?). I have several tats and I have ones that are significant to me and ones that I wish I didn’t get (I was young). I hope to one day have a BJJ tattoo. I also want a Muay Thai tattoo… They both have a very special place in my heart. Also, who cares what anyone else thinks? Right?

  6. Pingback: Jiu Jitsu Tattoos Images | Grappling, BJJ & MMA Training Tips, News and More

  7. Pingback: Free Tutorials Jujitsu Tattoos | Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Training Tips

Leave a Reply

