BJJ Youtube Instructionals- Helpful or Harmful?

I’m sure I’ve talked about this before, so I do apologize, but I just watched two youtube videos: one was a lesser quality, but with more useful, technical information and the other was less about technique and more about computer graphics and quick-cut editing to subtly show off the fact they had 3 HD quality cameras running at the same time. It’s a tricky subject, because of my own personal bias, where I feel a hands-on approach is the most effective. However, a lot of BJJ black belts make their supplemental income from DVD sales, websites that host instructional videos, and post Youtube videos doing just that.

There are some instructional videos out there that make me worry as well: ones that look like they are more concerned with looking slick and polished, and less about the technique themselves. Indeed, there are a lot of people out there with a lot of knowledge: there are also a lot of people out there who are just looking to make a quick buck and gain a social media following.

For people who have no alternative means to getting to a gym, I guess the videos are better than nothing, and for higher ranks it’s good to see the new trends in an ever evolving sport like jiu jitsu. But I personally see these videos as reference materials, or supplementary tools to use for further study or discussion with an instructor, not the sole word and authority on a technique.

I will continue to think about both sides of this argument, but what do you guys think?

 

3 Comments

Filed under bjj

3 responses to “BJJ Youtube Instructionals- Helpful or Harmful?

  1. AnthonyR

    Who / What are some of your most reccommended instructional sites / videos?

    • Katie

      Honestly, I don’t watch that many instructional videos, so I can’t really give a true, well researched opinion. I would say take a look around and see whose teaching style and explanations work best for you.

  2. There is something to be gained by these instructional videos. It’s a chance to see how differently some people teach, and it’s also a chance to see how differently people move.

    That’s what I take away from them. I don’t feel all that confident watching a video then going down to the gym to try whatever new fangled technique I’ve reportedly learned. Only to fumble about, trying to do something I haven’t properly experienced yet.

    The way I learn best is to feel something. I often get my instructor to demo the move on me after he’s shown the class a technique. So I can feel exactly where the hand placement etc is going.

    I guess the it’s down to how your brain is structured. Because I know people that can watch a technique on a video once, then pull it off in the gym.

Leave a Reply

