Jiu Jitsu and the Movies

Ok, so I have to admit I am a terrible jiu jitsu fan and have never seen the film “Haywire”, featuring (former?) MMA fighter Gina Carano, a number of pretty high end celebrities including one of my favorites, Michael Fassbender.

I just watched a fight scene between Carano and Fassbender, which first and foremost seemed a little too CGI to me- which may have just been the Youtube uploader’s choice, but I couldn’t help but feel like the fighting was a little exaggerated with the two repeated running into shelving and glassware- but I thought the conversation about the last bit of fight choreography had to have been pretty damn funny from Fassbender’s perspective if he’s never seen a UFC or jiu jitsu match before. If you haven’t seen it either, Carano manages to put Fassbender’s character into a triangle.

“Ok, so Michael, Gina’s going to put you into a triangle…”

“I’m sorry, a what?”

I’m also nitpicky and she should have been at a more perpendicular angle when executing the choke, but hey, whatevs, Harrison Ford gets to pull off barely recognizable judo throws all the time in his films, I imagine we’ll let this one slide.

Did anyone else see this film, and if so, what did you think- of this scene or otherwise?

1 Comment

Filed under bjj, women's bjj

One response to “Jiu Jitsu and the Movies

  1. Okay – now I need to see this movie. I’d intended to watch it – just hadn’t gotten around to it.

Leave a Reply

