Jiu jitsu Training Schedule: One Size Does NOT Fit All

This is a concept I feel like a lot of people understand logically, but have a hard time fully comprehending. I remember once drilling with a white belt, newly striped I think, and she asked how often I trained. Without thinking about it, I told her the truth: pretty much every day, and then realized my mistake as her eyes widened at the thought of increasing her training from 2 to 3 times a week to coming in every.single.day. I tried to reassure her that this was not the standard, which hopefully got through to her. I think she had to stop training due to work/life reasons… That’s what I tell myself anyway…

1964973_10152114596774888_1805281847_n

 

Don’t let the awkward expression fool you people, this is the face of an addict… A jiu jitsu addict. Well, coffee too, but that’s an issue we’ll tackle another day. It’s not a problem if it doesn’t hurt other people…right?

…uh, guys?

My point is your class attendance should be regular, and at least a weekly basis, but it also should be a schedule that best fits your needs and obligations. And more importantly, maintains your sanity. How can you fully learn and appreciate what is being taught if you are stressed throughout an entire class about how much work you have to do? Jiu jitsu offers valuable lessons in terms of physical and emotional balance, if we are willing to learn and accept them.

There can be pressure sometimes to train more: because you want to progress faster, because you want to do fancy stuff, because you don’t want to get left behind when stripes and promotions come around, because you’re an exercise addict, really the list goes on and on- and it’s fine to set short term goals for yourself, but you should also have plans for a longer term journey: let’s not even talk about how long what belt takes, if this is something that you want to do for the rest of your life, it has to fit into the rest of your life, correct?

So, in short, find a schedule that works best for you: whether that is twice a week, or twice a day, do what works best for you and don’t worry about comparing your attendance to others. I would just recommend being as consistent as possible, and if you asked me what I would suggest as the best amount of times per week, I would say at least twice a week, 3 times would be best, but really, again, whatever works best for you.

How many times a week do you attend class? Do you feel pressure to attend more, do you have a goal to attend more classes-or are you happy with your attendance rate? Let me know- otherwise, have a great day everyone!

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Jiu jitsu Training Schedule: One Size Does NOT Fit All

  1. I JUST started to train (3-4 months maybe) and my biggest anxiety is drilling/rolling with anyone other than white belts. I know that’s how I get better but I feel like I’m taking away training time from someone else by having them coach me! It’s nonsensical I know, but what do you think about it?

    • Katie

      Hey, thanks so much for wanting-I just wanted to let you know I’m going to respond, it’s just going to be a post instead, because I think it’s a concern a lot of students have when starting. But, in short, don’t stress-higher belts usually know what they are getting into when drilling and training with a lower belt. :)

  2. I love that you write about issues so damn relatable – I am TOTALLY guilty of the “you train HOW much?!” freak out. Reality is though I’m not a serious competitor and will never be, so don’t need to feel all the training guilt I’ve built up. I’ve been aiming for twice a week, which covers the membership payments and stops me from becoming obese! Ha. Now I have a better job with better hours, I’m aiming for 3-4 times a week with more consistent development.

    • Katie

      Hooray for a better jobs and better hours! :) they are always good for your sanity, and staying consistent in class attendance.

  3. I’m trying to get back in the swing of things. Hopefully 3 times per week, possibly 4. My shoulder has been feeling pretty darn sucky – but I’ll get back on the mats tomorrow night. I think lately I’ve been hitting…1 per week. If that. :(

    But yes – my ideal is minimum 3 per week.

  4. Many times I’ve ended up training just once a week, and then only teaching rather than training as a student. Now that I’m running my own place, that’s getting better: I’m up to three a week at the moment (one is teaching, sometimes two, but I get in regular sparring and drilling, especially when there are odd numbers, which is good). That’s going to increase to four or five soon when we open up our second location. Yay! :)

    Main thing is consistency and getting quality if you can’t get quantity. I’ve found that even if I’m only training once a week, I still find I benefit because I’m such a geek about taking notes. And indeed a geek about tracking my training, with lovely spreadsheets. ;)

Leave a Reply

