Paleo Diet Vs. Warrior Diet

It’s pretty early for me to talk about this, but after The Hunger Games…err, Pan Championships, I am going to be making a final push to lose some unnecessary poundage. Not a lot (under 10 lbs), but it will require a slight change in lifestyle. Where my weight is right now is not only where I want to stay, but I want to go lower without sacrificing muscle mass. I know I can do it and ultimately it will be healthier for me, not to mention a boon when competing. Fighting a lower weight class? Booyah!

I have been looking primarily into two options: the Paleo Diet and the Warrior Diet. In true Katie fashion, I have been researching and just generally hemming and hawing between the two, finding things I like and things that turn me off from both. So, I’ll run through what they are, and what I find great, and not so awesome about the two.

The Warrior Diet

From what I can find, the Warrior Diet is created and promoted by a gentleman named Ori Hofmekler. The general premise is a warrior back in the day did not have time to pack away 3 square meals a day, and so ate sparingly during the day and feasted in the evening.

What I like about it:

1. Closest to current eating habits: in the past few weeks my routine has really consisted of some yogurt and peanut butter in the morning, a protein shake and either a banana or two hard boiled eggs for lunch/afternoon snack, and then dinner, give or take about 2 to 4 cups of coffee throughout the day.

What I don’t like:

1. Calorie counting: I hate calorie counting with a fiery passion of a thousand suns. I don’t do well with it, I feel like I am constantly under estimating the calories I have been eating, which causes me to eat less and everything just turns into a big hot mess.

2. Late night stuffing: I understand you have a 4 hour window to eat the majority of your calories, but sometimes I get home late, and really do not have the time to prepare a “feast” before bed.

3. The chance of getting “punch drunk” in class: If I was careful I think I could avoid this, but there have been times where I have not consumed enough calories before class. I then lose focus, and start to get “punch drunk” in class. If I get like this just in my normal dietary schedule, I would be worried that I would have a much higher chance of not having enough calories to get through training.

4. I have read some other reviews of people who have tried the two, and they have reported the Paleo Diet worked better for them.

Paleo and/or Primal Diet

I’m not sure who came up with these, but some of the main figureheads when talking about these diets are Loren Cordain and Mark Sisson. From what I understand, there’s a whole story about how you are eating like paleolithic man, pre-agricultural society. Which naturally you think mainly meat, fruits and raw veggies. Include nuts and seeds, and for the most part you are right.

What I like about it:

1. Fruit! I currently am pretty much on a low carb, high protein diet as it is, and while I don’t miss bread, fresh fruit is something I find I really crave. Same goes for a number of veggies.

What I don’t like:

1. In some strict versions, no dairy: I loves me some greek yogurt and a little cream in my coffee.

2. No peanut butter: cashew butter, almond butter, even macadamia nut butter are allowed, but no peanut butter. For those who know me well, this is indeed a problem.

3. In more strict versions, no caffeine: I’m sorry, what?

4. A heavy dependence on coconut products: I tried to drink coconut milk once, and realized that it smelled just like sunblock. And then I couldn’t get the thought out of my head that I was drinking sunblock. I would like to think I would be willing to try it one more time, but…probably not.

So I may try to make a compromise of the two, or come up with something all together. At the end of the day all I really want to be able to do is eat and not have to sing the chorus to this song every time I put food in my mouth:

…or have large tanks chasing after me. That would be inconvenient.

2 Comments

Filed under bjj, Training

2 responses to “Paleo Diet Vs. Warrior Diet

  1. Hey, you described the diets very accurately, and while I;ve been trying both, even laingains and just regular intermitent fasting, what have you found out works for you better so far? Besides being healthy and feeling great I want to lose 10 pounds, at first I thought IF was crazy but know my body is kind of used to having 2 really small meals and then a big one closer to night which is convenient since I workout before the ¨big meal¨ at night or evenings. Please let me know! :)

  2. Pingback: Paleo Recipes Ground Lamb

Leave a Reply

